Skip to content

Grand Forks Update: March 26th/27th

March 27, 2009

I apologize in advance for the lack of coherence in this post–I’m on the wrong side of 5:30AM.

UND students like myself were greeted (in my case woken up) by a text message at about 11:30 letting us know that classes from Thursday-Monday have been canceled so students can aid in the flood protection efforts going on in Grand Forks and Fargo. After slowly pulling myself out of bed, it was time to head back to Sandbag Central.

Grand Forks Sandbag Central, 3:00PM 3/26

For a short video showing life at Sandbag Central from the afternoon, head to my Flickr page.

Needless to say, the turnout when I arrived was nothing short of awesome. Hundreds if not thousands of UND students have banded together in the past 36 hours in groups large and small to assist in filling, loading and throwing sandbags in a dusty room constantly filled with the noise of tractors moving dirt and sandbags. UND’s sports teams (Football, Track and Soccer), med school students and fraternities had a large showing during the “day shift.” When I returned after work at 2:30AM, groups of students from UND’s dorms, Army ROTC, and Honors had taken up shovels until the wee hours of the morning.

Grand Forks Sandbag Central, 5:00AM 3/27

I know this will likely be said over and over again, but UND’s students deserve a huge thanks for their efforts over the past week. Today is a day that I feel proud to be a member of this student body that is working day and night to help out in our surrounding communities. We have truly banded together in a time of need.

Tomorrow I will head downtown to provide an updated perspective on the flooding there.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. LJE in Maryland permalink
    March 27, 2009 6:07 am

    Thanks for the information and updates (Twitter is highlighting information on the flood and your site was listed). I was a professor at University of St. Thomas in St. Paul, MN during the 1997 floods in Grand Forks, East Grand Forks and we had graduate cohorts in both East Grand Forks and Moorhead. I know what all those teachers in those cities went through then and it was terrible. All of us who have lived or worked in your area are thinking of you but I am not too surprised at the level of help everyone is demonstrating. Those folks up there, including you and your fellow students, are terrific. Stay safe.

  2. March 27, 2009 8:36 pm

    Hey, I was just wondering if the walls that were built after ’97 are doing their job? I’m from up there just down south doing my internship, and am curious? I grew up near grand forks, and all I’m hearing about is Fargo, so thanks for the updates on GF.

Leave a Reply

